RWS: a Picture a Day – 2009

  • About Me:

    I am a 32 year old mother of 2 and professional photographer. I shoot with a Canon 5D unless otherwise noted.
  • Classes & Workshops

  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • archives

A Bit of Business

Posted by rws on December 20, 2007

I am trying to decide what to do about next year and this here blog. There are only a handful of you who comment, but I know there are more of you out there reading. I see you in the stats! 🙂

I’d love to know how you feel about this here blog and also if you want me to keep it up next year —

So…

Answer the poll — VOTE ONCE! I can see your IP addresses, so don’t try and vote more than once. 🙂

And then, I’d love some other feedback in the comments! If you’d rather not leave it in the comments, feel free to email me! wsphotography [at] cox [dot] net. Tell me what you like and don’t like. What you’d like to see or what you are really tired of seeing. Tell me anything you want! I’d love to hear from all of you!

Would you like RWS: Picture a Day to continue in 2008?
1) Yes
2) No
20 Responses to “A Bit of Business”

  1. kathyp said

    absolutely!

    i don’t get many comments either considering how many hits i get every day. i just figure that some people just don’t like to comment or maybe they don’t know how. either way, i don’t care. i love my blog. i find it very therapeutic sometimes! 🙂 and i know that even though my family and friends don’t comment, they do love checking in to see what we’re up to.

    i really enjoy your blog wendy! please keep it going!

  2. Ditto. Ditto. Ditto to what your friend commented. Blogging is therapeutic and personally I love seeing what you come up with. I am an aspiring photographer who found you through Kristyn McBride and love seeing what you do. So, if I’m going to be selfish, I vote for the blog. Now, I also recognize that blogging can sometimes take priority over other important things in life, which at that point I recommend not feeling guilty if you don’t have time to post something EVERY DAY. But I know I sure love it and I’ve passed it on to other photographer friends.

  3. Debbi said

    I am one of those daily lurkers but has never commented. I love this blog and hope that someday soon I can also be one of your students in your class. Love your pictures and your “notes”. I’m new to photography (serious for about a year) and love how you take the daily events and tell a story. You have inspired me to look around me in a different way and learn to document the “ordinary” memories. I hope you continue with the blog!

  4. Sarah said

    Your photos are excellent and they give me creative ideas. I love how you always put your info underneath them for settings. It’s helpful for a photographer that has much to learn.

  5. rachelzana said

    I lurk daily! I love the perspective of your images, and the stories they tell.

  6. elizabeth said

    definitely keep it coming wendy!
    it’s great to see what you are up to, photographically and with your family!
    I’d love to see more from your client work too, if that’s possible.
    The question is, do YOU like blogging?
    I like the journaling aspect of it. It pushes me to edit my family photos and even write one or two things down about the kids. Time flies and soon we’ll be moaning about our teenagers… 😀
    -e

  7. Michele said

    Yes, Wendy! I would love it if you kept the blog going. Even though the class is over (ahem. . on all of that. . insert guilty face here) I feel like through your blog, I can still keep track of what’s going on with you. I check out what lens you’re using, composition on the picture, etc., etc. Then I practice more and still suck:) Please keep it going. If you stop, I will lose my Wendy-fix. You wouldn’t want to be responsible for that, would you? You are talented and funny and I feel like I’m connecting with a friend when I read your blog. Blog on, Sista! “Clink”–that’s us toasting with two Cokes–straight up!

  8. Kelly said

    Yes please keep the blog. I would love to see some of your client stuff–lots of it actually!

  9. Julie said

    Yes! You have to keep up the blog!

  10. reetah said

    I’m a lurker too. But a (somewhat) faithful one.

    I love pictures of you and the kids, mostly because I love you guys. And I’m pretty sure you inspire me to be a better photographer, so keep up the random comments on the creation of the pictures. Basically, I love it. If you need to change it, my only suggestion would be 5 pictures a day…but then you might go crazy, so maybe we’ll just be content with the one.

    Can I drop by over the holidays to see you????

  11. Alissa said

    Love the blog. I like seeing your world through your lens. I think it’s fun to see life in such a perspective. Visiting you regularly keeps my desire going to want to sign up for one of your classes too. So from a business perspective, it’s good for driving students your direction. I think it would be cool to see client images – as so many have mentioned before me. Perhaps, with permission, showcasing a little of the work your students submit to you as well.

    I know we’d never know each other on the street and I can’t recall at all how I found your blog but you are one of my favorites to visit. It’s fun to see some of your wit and get to know you a bit through the blog. I also like that it’s a dose of inspiration without requiring an hour of my day to read through it all. I’d be delighted if you kept it just as it is but I’d also love to see more of your work.

    Merry Christmas!

  12. Annie said

    I love your blog wendy. I’m not much of a commenter though. Especially when I feel like kind of a stalker. I love your photos and love that you write info about how you created it. I can always get a good laugh from your posts. So, keep it up…PLEASE!!

  13. Donita said

    I lurk everyday. You inspire me. I would love to see your client work as well.

  14. Kristin said

    I am not usually able to check every day, but you are in my feed, so I love stopping by and seeing you and the kids. I feel so much more connected to you cause you have this, and you definitely inspire me! See, I started one too, just cause of you! You gotta keep it going just so I can link to it! 🙂 I love you!

  15. Donna said

    Yes, please! This is one of my very favorite blogs. I like everything as it is – especially your commentary. If you are looking to add anything, I would love to see more pictures of your home!
    I don’t comment because…uh, I don’t have anything to say except maybe, “Wow! I wish I could take pictures like that” and that might get old after the first few.

  16. nic said

    ya – ditto… I was on here months before taking a class, just waiting and drooling, trying to absorb skill through some sort of airborne osmosis…

    this blog is the first thing I click on in the morning – its at the top of my list of things to wake up to – LOVE IT! I love your photographs and your notes… and how else I am going to learn ‘pretty’ if I don’t get to see ‘stunning’ everyday?

  17. Heather said

    Yes please keep the blog!
    I love to look.
    I love to see what your up to and what your kids are doing.
    How you capture the everyday and make it look fantastic.
    I enjoy your notes about each photo
    and the technical information.
    Basically I love the blog!
    I’ll try to comment more….but if I don’t, know that I am reading everyday!

  18. Jen said

    I hope you continue the photo blogging Wendy! And I will try to leave comments more often. You really are a fantastic inspiration to me, I love seeing the kiddos, reading your desciptions, and I like to see the technical info as well. Thanks!

  19. Danielle said

    Wendy I really enjoy your blog! It is such a source of inspiration as well as learning with your notes and technical info. Please keep it:) I really appreciate you sharing your incredible talent with us!

  20. Marla said

    Yes, pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeease, keep up your blog. 🙂 I have your feed in my Google reader and I love seeing the creative shots you come up with. You never fail to entertain, Wendy, and I really enjoy your blog. I tend to be lazy about blog commenting! But I love keeping up with your blog.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
