RWS: a Picture a Day – 2009

  • About Me:

    I am a 32 year old mother of 2 and professional photographer. I shoot with a Canon 5D unless otherwise noted.
  • Classes & Workshops

  • January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • archives

01.05.08 – Featured Student

Posted by rws on January 5, 2008

Starting a New Thing — A request was made to show some student work and I think this is a really really fun idea. So on Saturdays I’m going to not only post an image of my own but also feature some work from current and past students. I’m really very excited about this!

0105stu.jpg

By Melissa Lee

Note: Melissa took this for Assignment 5 – the assignment most of my students hate but which I love. It pushes them. One of the more fun images I ask them to create is that of a silhouette. I just love this one. It reminds me of Mark Twain and Huckleberry Finn.
Note2: Melissa says that it reminds her of Winnie the Pooh. So I guess we’re all on track with the literary allusions.
Note3: Want to see more of Melissa’s Work?
Blog is www.creativeleephotography.blogspot.com
Smugmug is www.creativelessphoto.smugmug.com

Nikon D70s | 34mm | 1/1000 @ f/7.1 | ISO 400

5 Responses to “01.05.08 – Featured Student”

  1. kathy p said

    an absolutely beautiful shot! i have seen this one before…. maybe on her blog!

    i remember ass. #5. not one of my favorites for sure! heehee!

    this is such a great idea wendy! i love that you are doing it!

  2. elizabeth said

    oooooh! sounds like fun! I love seeing how others interpret/execute those assignments.
    saturdays are going to be great around here 😀
    -e

  3. Marla said

    What a fun idea, Wendy! I love silhouettes and this is a really sweet and beautiful one.

  4. Alissa said

    I love this idea!! I’m so glad you are doing this. It also gives your blog stalkers more fodder to go look at! I love all the inspiration I can find.

    This shot is super. The kids look perfectly spaced for a great silhouette. Just beautiful.

  5. connie said

    This is great ………beautiful silhouettes of the girls….looking forward to more pics………what talent you have!!!!!!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
