RWS: a Picture a Day – 2009

  • About Me:

    I am a 32 year old mother of 2 and professional photographer. I shoot with a Canon 5D unless otherwise noted.
  • Classes & Workshops

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • archives

06.25.08

Posted by rws on June 25, 2008

My Children Are Different: Exhibit A

Quite a while ago I wrote a little thing about how different my children are from each other.

One is older, the other younger.

One is a peacamaker, the other battles through obstacles with willful indignation.

One is a gentle spirit, the other independent.

One is all logic, the other all emotion.

One is quick to make friends, the other is cautious.

One jumps in feet first without a backward glance, the other dips a toe to test the water.

One assumes that all square pegs must always go in square holes, the other assumes that square pegs were meant to be altered to fit whatever hole is desired.

One is going to be a doctor or lawyer or indian chief, the other is going to be whatever-I-dang-well-please-and-no-one-can-stop-me-thankyouverymuch.

One goes along with the gentle sway of the tide waiting for the right moment to come, the other fights against the ebbs and flows with an unbreakable determination to win a useless battle of the ages.

One is destined for greatness simply because that is what is expected of oneself, the other is destined for greatness because settling for less would be unacceptable.

Both are loved beyond measure.

The above is just visible proof. On the left, Elijah cleaned up the crayons and his colored pencils. On the right, Katie cleaned up the crayons and her pencils.

85mm lens | 1/50 @ f/1.8 | ISO 1250
pp: corrected white balance (it was UGLY), made into diptych, resized and sharpend for web

5 Responses to “06.25.08”

  1. debi954 said

    I love this post; it so reminds me of the differences between two of my daughters….I could have written it when they were Elijah and Katie’s ages and really still could today 20 years later 🙂

  2. JENN said

    What a great thing to document..really…I think it all the time just have never put it in that perspective. Very cool…love the visual…even without the story your picture speaks volumes.

  3. abbey said

    I LOVE this post!!!
    Perfect!

  4. Cecile said

    I love this….it should be framed (two of them) to gift them when they are older….thank you for sharing this

  5. Mark said

    Great spot Wendy….I would clear up like Elijah for sure.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
