RWS: a Picture a Day – 2009

  • About Me:

    I am a 32 year old mother of 2 and professional photographer. I shoot with a Canon 5D unless otherwise noted.
  • Classes & Workshops

  • August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • archives

08.14.08

Posted by rws on August 14, 2008

Watching the Rain

I know. I’ve been MAJORLY slacking around here. I’ve been busy with a few things and some personal stuff came up and wow I’m just full of excuses. Anyway. I’m going to try really hard to get back on the bandwagon.

This is Katie watching the rain come down after she was put in bed. I just loved her sweet expression.

16-35mm @ 35mm | 0.3s @ f/2.8 | ISO 1600 | WB set to flash
yes. it was SLOW shutter speed. yes. I handheld it. I’m a steady hand, plus I was leaning against the wall with my knees pulled up and my elbows propped on my knees. Sort of a human tripod. Holding the camera steady wasn’t as hard as waiting for a moment when she wasn’t moving.
pp: I did a lot of subtle changes to this to get the colors I wanted. I ran a Lomo action to get the greens in the bed post/window area, masked back her face because I didn’t like how the lomo looked on it, then ran erin’s standard color action, but lowered the opacity of it WAY down, then added a slight curves bump a bit of a levels tweak, another tweak to the color with a color balance layer, some adjustments with a channel mixer layer, and then burnt a weird reflection on the wall out of the background over her head. It sounds like a lot, but it took me about 5 minutes. I knew what I wanted and pretty much had a good idea of how I wanted to get there.

2 Responses to “08.14.08”

  1. Stacy T said

    i have to tell you that i always appreciate you writing what you shot it at, how you got the shot, etc. it’s very helpful to see HOW you did it. rarely do people put this info on theirs shots. so thank you.

  2. Kristal said

    I agree with Stacy T. Just wantd to let you know that this really is awesome of you!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
