RWS: a Picture a Day – 2009

  • About Me:

    I am a 32 year old mother of 2 and professional photographer. I shoot with a Canon 5D unless otherwise noted.
  • Classes & Workshops

  • October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • archives

10.09.08

Posted by rws on October 9, 2008

Sing myself awake Watch the branches break

Completely inspired by an image I saw today of leaves floating down a stream of water. Makes me miss living somewhere that actually HAS seasons. Rita, I may be coming your way VERY SOON. Get the guest room ready. 😉

So shake the leaves, off the trees,
Watch them float down the stream
….
Throw me a dream please, it’s been a dreamless sleep
For such a long time, such a long time
Sing myself awake
Watch the branches break
No one could ever take your place

-Seabear, I sing I swim
Listen to it Here

LOVE that song. Have from the first moment I heard it. And the leaves floating down the stream made the song come so clearly to my head I knew I had to work it into my 365 today.

ALSO — this is yet ANOTHER reason for someone to claim that last spot in the Flash workshop. I took this image at 1pm today in my backyard, full sun, not a could in the sky.

And, lastly, I am SO TIRED of taking pictures of my kids I have resorted to taking pictures of myself. haha.

16-35mm @ 23mm | 1/200 @ f/5.6 | ISO 50 | vivtar 285 off camera, shoot through umbrella, camera left, ambient 1 1/3 stops below flash exposure, 1/2 CTO to make the sky appear bluer
pp: Pioneer Woman’s Lovely and Ethereal on a lowered opacity, quick edge burn

4 Responses to “10.09.08”

  1. barbara said

    Hi Wendy,

    Sooo wish I could join you for that last spot. when life slows down and perhaps after I win that prize over on your new site!

    BTW, I had trouble with the link on your new site that should send me over here. Don’t know if it’s just me but thought you’d want to check it out…

  2. reetah said

    Haha…there’s some stiff compitition for the guest room these days, but you’re a tough woman, so I have no doubt you will prevail 🙂

  3. Alissa said

    Oh, I wish I could photograph and edit like you.

  4. Julie said

    Gorgeous…love the song and your light is superb here 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
